60×60

International Film Collage
02.07.2022 – 14.10.2022

60×60

60×60

"60×60" is a global film project that combines 60 short films of 60 seconds each (rough guideline) by artists from a wide range of countries and cultures. The overarching theme is food, in both political and cultural contexts. The curation team, Dr. Isabel Greschat, Dr. Ella Platschka (both from the Museum of Bread and Art) and Cora Schönemann (freelance artist, curator, and event organizer) conducted intensive research and contacted many artists, facilitators, and influencers. Thanks to a wealth of submissions, the curation team was able to assemble a selection marked by very diverse perspectives, approaches, and aesthetics. Renowned artists such as Shahar Marcus, Elia Nurvista, Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger, Anahita Razmi, and Koen Vanmechelen are participating in the project – but also up-and-coming artists such as Onno Gaissmaier and Tobi Akinde. The short films will comprise a video collage approximately 100 minutes in length.

Subject matter includes global phenomena such as packaging and industrial food production - Böller und Brot, for example, portray children in their own kitchen trying to recreate highly processed snack food items as faithfully as possible to the ingredients on the package. The collective Neozoon has created a disturbing montage using found footage. Youngbin Noh and Anna Mönnich/ Mark Klawikowski explore trends such as food porn and mukbang. Aldonza Contreras Castro, on the other hand, has gone in the opposite direction: in her film "Suficiente," she celebrates a communal meal consisting of a simple potato. And Uhunoma tells the story of a girl in a slum who dreams that she is rich and beautiful and surrounded by delicious food.
Meat plays a role in several contributions. In Nezaket Ekici's work, it takes the form of various pig body parts, which the artist handles, some tenderly, some distantly. Peter Miyalu Nzodisa addresses the colonial tradition of meat processing, and in Rémy Markowitsch's work, too, the chopping blades and orchestrating hands of a butcher signal pride and perhaps even power. In contrast, Maho Irigoyen celebrates a collective of women who live self-determined and self-sufficient lives, growing vegetables, cooking with and for each other, and in this way resisting the culture of male violence.
Violence and war are the subjects of other clips as well. In Shahar Marcus' film "Seeds," the artist sows grain in fields formerly littered with landmines; in Alla Georgieva's contribution, a toy tank takes on a life of its own on top of a table set for a peaceful family meal, leaving a battlefield in its wake.
Funny contributions (such as that by Valentino Berndt, whose hunter-gatherer makes use of a modern-day drone) and conciliatory tones (such as Jennifer Skarbnik Lopez's family cookbook, which brings back childhood memories) can also be found in the collage.

"60 x 60" will be on display in the museum from July 2nd through October 14th, 2022.
It is possible to stream the film online: https://vimeo.com/727669930

Closing Event
October 14th, at 7 PM
Presentation of the videos created in the workshop
with honey & bunny (Vienna, A)
Screening of excerpts from the "60x60" film collage
Vienna Impressions with DJ Nico Bulla

The project is funded by the Baden-Württemberg state program, "Art Despite Distance" and additional funding is provided by the Friends of the Museum of Bread and Art (Förderverein Museum Brot und Kunst e.V.).

Participating artists -
Tobi Akinde (Nigeria), Rowan Aldib (Egypt), Suzanne Anker (USA), Hend Bakr (Egypt), Tino Baumann (Germany), Valentino Berndt (Mexico/Germany), Böller und Brot (Germany), Birgit Bornemann (Germany), Alex Boya (Canada/Bulgaria), Johannes Büttner (Germany), Aldonza Contreras Castro (Mexico), Rodrigo Courtney Alejandre (Mexico), Søren Dahlgard (Denmark), Jaqui Dresen (Germany), Nezaket Ekici (Turkey/Germany), Tomas Espinosa (Columbia/Germany), Alex Frost (GB), Kasia Fudakowski (GB/Germany/Poland), Onno Gaissmaier (Germany), Alla Georgieva (Ukraine/Bulgaria), Andrea Godínez (Mexico), Grieta Cine de Raiz (Mexico), Tang Han (China/Germany), Marc Hautmann (Germany), Honey & Bunny (Austria), Maho Irigoyen (Argentina/Mexico), Ebba Jahn (Germany), Birgit Johnsen (Denmark), Koko Byamungo Kabamba (Congo), Mark Klawikowski (Germany), Steffen Köhn (Germany), Isabelle Konrad (Germany), Pia Maria Martin (Germany), Shahar Marcus (Israel), Rémy Markowitsch (Switzerland), Peter Miyalu Nzodisa (Congo), Anna Mönnich (Germany), NEOZOON (Germany), Hanne Nielsen (Denmark), Youngbin Noh (South Korea/Germany), Elia Nurvista (Indonesia/Netherlands), Gerard Ortín Castellví (Spain), Anahita Razmi (Germany), Krišs Salmanis (Latvia), Moritz Schinn (Germany), Marco Schuler (Germany), Kalin Serapionov (Bulgaria), Jennifer Skarbnik Lopez (Mexico), Gerda Steiner und Jörg Lenzlinger (Switzerland), Tadasu Takamine (Japan), Kyoko Takemura (Japan/Germany), Wana Udobang (Nigeria/GB), Uhunoma (Nigeria), Andreas Usenbenz (Germany), Koen Vanmechelen (Belgium), Farzane Vaziritabar (Iran/Germany), Ance Vilnîte (Latvia), Gabrielle Zimmermann (Germany)

sponsors

60×60

Internationale Filmcollage
02.07.2022 – 14.10.2022

60×60

60×60

„60×60“ ist ein weltumspannendes Filmprojekt, das 60 Kurzfilme à 60 Sekunden (Richtwert) von Künstler*innen aus verschiedensten Ländern und Kulturen verbindet. Übergreifendes Thema ist Essen in politischen und kulturellen Kontexten. Das Kuratorinnenteam Dr. Isabel Greschat, Dr. Ella Platschka (beide Museum Brot und Kunst) und Cora Schönemann (freie Künstlerin, Kuratorin und Kulturveranstalterin) haben dafür intensiv recherchiert, viele Künstler*innen und Multiplikator*innen kontaktiert und dank zahlreicher Einsendungen schließlich eine Auswahl sehr unterschiedlicher Fokusse, Ansätze und Ästhetiken zusammenstellen können. Mit dabei sind namhafte Künstler*innen wie z.B. Shahar Marcus, Elia Nurvista, Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger, Anahita Razmi oder Koen Vanmechelen – aber auch überraschende Newcomer wie Onno Gaissmaier oder Tobi Akinde. Aus allen Kurzfilmen zusammen entsteht eine etwa 100-minütige Collage.
Thematisiert werden globale Phänomene wie Verpackung und industrielle Nahrung – Böller und Brot etwa zeigen Kinder, die versuchen, hochverarbeitete Snacks möglichst getreu aller zur Verfügung stehenden Informationen nachzukochen Das Kollektiv Neozoon arbeitet mit Found Footage und kreiert verstörende Zusammenschnitte. Youngbin Noh und Anna Mönnich/ Mark Klawikowski greifen Trends wie Food Porn und Mukbang auf. Ganz anders agiert dagegen Aldonza Contreras Castro: In ihrem Film „Suficiente“ zelebriert sie das gemeinschaftliche Essen einer einfachen Kartoffel. Und Uhunoma erzählt von einem Mädchen im Slum, das sich in eine Phantasiewelt träumt, in der sie reich und schön ist und wunderbare Speisen bereitstehen.
Fleisch spielt in verschiedenen Beiträgen eine Rolle. Bei Nezaket Ekici in Form von Körperteilen vom Schwein, mit denen die Künstlerin hantiert, teils zärtlich, teils distanziert. Peter Miyalu Nzodisa thematisiert die koloniale Tradition der Fleischverarbeitung, und auch bei Rémy Markowitsch signalisieren die Fleisch schneidenden und ordnenden Hände eines Fleischverkäufers Stolz und vielleicht sogar Macht. Dem gegenüber feiert Maho Irigoyen ein Kollektiv von Frauen, die selbstbestimmt und autark leben, Gemüse anbauen, mit- und füreinander kochen und auf diese Weise Widerstand gegen männliche Gewalt leisten.
Auch in anderen Clips brechen Gewalt und Krieg herein. In Shahar Marcus‘ Film „Seeds“ sät der Künstler Getreide, wo zuvor Tellerminen lagen, in Alla Georgievas Beitrag macht sich ein Spielzeugpanzer selbstständig und hinterlässt ein Schlachtfeld auf dem für ein friedliches Familienmahl gedeckten Tisch.
Witzige Beiträge (wie von Valentino Berndt, dessen Jäger und Sammler sich einer modernen Drohne bedient) und versöhnliche Töne (wie das Familienkochbuch von Jennifer Skarbnik Lopez, das Kindheitserinnerungen wach werden lässt) sind in der Collage ebenfalls zu finden.

60 x 60 wird von 2. Juli bis 14. Oktober 2022 im Museum gezeigt.
Wer nicht nach Ulm kommen kann, hat unter folgendem Link die Möglichkeit, die Filme online zu streamen: https://vimeo.com/727669930
It is possible to stream the film online: https://vimeo.com/727669930

Finissage
14. Oktober, ab 19 Uhr
Präsentation der Ergebnisse des Workshops
mit honey & bunny (Wien, A)
Vorführung Auswahl aus der Filmcollage 60x60
Vienna Impressions mit DJ Nico Bulla
Das Projekt wird vom Ministerium für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst Baden-Württemberg Land Baden-Württemberg im Programm „Kunst trotz Abstand“ gefördert; ergänzende Förderungen kommen vom Förderverein Museum Brot und Kunst e.V.

Artists - Beteiligte Künstler*innen
Tobi Akinde (Nigeria), Rowan Aldib (Ägypten), Suzanne Anker (USA), Hend Bakr (Ägypten), Tino Baumann (D), Valentino Berndt (Mexiko/D), Böller und Brot (D), Birgit Bornemann (D), Alex Boya (Kanada/Bulgarien), Johannes Büttner (D), Aldonza Contreras Castro (Mexiko), Rodrigo Courtney Alejandre (Mexiko), Søren Dahlgard (Dänemark), Jaqui Dresen (D), Nezaket Ekici (Türkei/D), Tomas Espinosa (Kolumbien/Deutschland), Alex Frost (GB), Kasia Fudakowski (GB/D/Polen), Onno Gaissmaier (D), Alla Georgieva (Ukraine/Bulgarien), Andrea Godínez (Mexiko), Grieta Cine de Raiz (Mexiko), Tang Han (China/D), Marc Hautmann (D), Honey & Bunny (Österreich), Maho Irigoyen (Argentinien/Mexiko), Ebba Jahn (D), Birgit Johnsen (Dänemark), Koko Byamungo Kabamba (Kongo), Mark Klawikowski (D), Steffen Köhn (D), Isabelle Konrad (D), Pia Maria Martin (D), Shahar Marcus (Israel), Rémy Markowitsch (Schweiz), Peter Miyalu Nzodisa (Kongo), Anna Mönnich (D), NEOZOON (D), Hanne Nielsen (Dänemark), Youngbin Noh (Südkorea/D), Elia Nurvista (Indonesien/Niederlande), Gerard Ortín Castellví (Spanien), Anahita Razmi (D), Krišs Salmanis (Lettland), Moritz Schinn (D), Marco Schuler (D), Kalin Serapionov (Bulgarien), Jennifer Skarbnik Lopez (Mexiko), Gerda Steiner und Jörg Lenzlinger (Schweiz), Tadasu Takamine (Japan), Kyoko Takemura (Japan/D), Wana Udobang (Nigeria/GB), Uhunoma (Nigeria), Andreas Usenbenz (D), Koen Vanmechelen (Belgien), Farzane Vaziritabar (Iran/D), Ance Vilnîte (Lettland), Gabrielle Zimmermann (D)

sponsors